renojnr.blogg.se

Thunderbird gmail imap
Thunderbird gmail imap











thunderbird gmail imap

There are various settings I could have played with, but in the end, IMAP is the way to go. This means that if I download a message off Gmail in Windows, for example, then when I go to Kubuntu and open up Thunderbird there, the message will have already been marked read and sent to Gmail's archive. For those of you unfamiliar with mail protocols, POP lets you download messages off a server, but you can't really interact with them. However, up until tonight, I've been using POP to view my messages in Thunderbird. Using Gmail for their email system was, incidentally, the smartest technical decision my university ever made. I forward all of my email accounts to my main Gmail account-except for my university account, which is separate. I learned today that Gmail offers free IMAP access now (they have for awhile, but I'm out of the loop, I guess).













Thunderbird gmail imap